All airlines › Carry-on bag fees
Bag fees · 45 airlines
Carry-on bag fees: book online vs. at the gate
What the cheapest fare includes, what a carry-on costs when you add it online, and what you pay if you turn up at the gate with it. Budget airlines are highlighted. We only show a price when the airline's own page states it, with the link and the date we checked.
- 22 of 45 airlines don't include a carry-on in the cheapest fare
- 12 publish a carry-on or gate bag amount (9 of 25 budget)
- 33 don't publish one we can verify (shown as “Not published”)
| Airline | Carry-on in cheapest fare? | Book online / at booking | At the airport / gate | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AirAsiaBudget | Yes7 kg combined allowance | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| Allegiant AirBudget | NoCarry-on fee applies |
|
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · USD |
| Avelo AirlinesBudget | NoPaid (free for active-duty military) |
|
Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · USDNot pre-purchased at booking costs extra; airport amount is only shown in Avelo's interactive bag price checker. |
| Breeze AirwaysBudget | NoOnly with Nicer/Nicest or paid | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| easyJetBudget | NoSmall under-seat bag only | Not published |
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · GBPOnline price varies by flight and when you book; the page says it is always cheaper online than at the gate. |
| EurowingsBudget | NoBasic: paid option | Unclear on official page | Unclear on official page | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25The official page gives two different starting prices for adding a cabin bag to Basic (from €18 / £16 vs from 21 € / £18 / $24), so we don't show either. |
| Flair AirlinesBudget | NoPersonal item only |
|
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · CAD; USD for US-originating trips (tax-inclusive, per piece, per flight) |
| Frontier AirlinesBudget | NoBasic fare: paid add-on | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25Frontier says bag prices vary by date and when you buy, and are higher at the airport; amounts are only in its interactive Bag Price Checker. |
| IndiGoBudget | Yes1 piece, 7 kg (varies by flight) | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| Jet2Budget | YesIncluded on all flights | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| JetBlueHybrid | YesAll fares | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| JetSMARTBudget | NoPersonal item only |
|
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · USD / CLP / ARS / COP as published |
| JetstarBudget | YesStarter: 7 kg combined | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| NorwegianBudget | NoNot with LowFare | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| Peach AviationBudget | Yes1 bag + 1 personal item, 7 kg | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| Pegasus AirlinesBudget | NoLight: can be bought | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| RyanairBudget | NoBasic: small under-seat bag only |
|
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · EUR / GBP |
| Southwest AirlinesBudget | YesAll fares | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| Spring Airlines (春秋航空)Budget | NoFree bag is 20×30×40 cm only; 20-inch bag needs 尊享飞 or paid upgrade | Not published |
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · CNY (人民币)Price of the paid 20-inch carry-on upgrade is not stated on this page. |
| TransaviaBudget | NoUnder-seat bag only; cabin bag with Smart/Max | Not published |
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · EUR |
| VietJet AirBudget | DependsDepends on fare class and route | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| Viva AerobusBudget | NoNot with Zero | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| VolarisBudget | NoNot with Zero or Basic | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| VuelingBudget | NoFly Light: under-seat bag only | Not published |
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · EUR (per item, per flight)Online add-on price not stated ("Prices vary depending on the booking"). |
| Wizz AirBudget | NoOnly with WIZZ Priority | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| Air CanadaFull-service | NoEconomy Basic on some routes: personal item only | Not published |
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · CAD / USD |
| Air ChinaFull-service | YesEconomy 1 piece | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| Air FranceFull-service | NoBasic: none (option can be bought) | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| Alaska AirlinesFull-service | YesPage lists no fare exclusion | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| American AirlinesFull-service | YesPage lists no fare exclusion | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| ANAFull-service | Yes1 carry-on + 1 personal item | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| British AirwaysFull-service | YesAll cabins incl. Basic | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| China EasternFull-service | YesEconomy 1 piece | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| China SouthernFull-service | YesEconomy 1 piece | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| Delta Air LinesFull-service | YesAll fares | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-25 |
| EmiratesFull-service | DependsDepends on cabin class | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| Japan Airlines (JAL)Full-service | Yes1 carry-on + 1 personal item | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| KLMFull-service | NoEconomy Basic: small bag only | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| Korean AirFull-service | YesEconomy 1 bag + 1 personal item | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| LufthansaFull-service | NoEconomy Basic (short/medium haul): personal item only | Not published |
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · EUR / CHF / USD by route |
| QantasFull-service | YesInternational Economy 1 bag | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| Qatar AirwaysFull-service | YesEconomy 1 piece | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| Singapore AirlinesFull-service | YesEconomy 1 piece | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| Turkish AirlinesFull-service | YesEconomy 1 piece | Not published | Not published | Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 |
| United AirlinesFull-service | NoBasic Economy: personal item only on most routes |
|
|
Official pagechecked 2026-10-26 · USDThese are the fees for checking the bag a Basic Economy carry-on isn't allowed to bring (most routes). Tickets bought before Apr 3, 2026: $35 / $40 / $65. |
Amounts are copied from each airline's official page in the currency it uses, usually per bag, per flight and as a range that depends on route and date. “Not published” means the page we checked gives no fixed amount (often the price only appears in the booking flow). Rules and prices change; confirm on the airline's site.
How to avoid the gate fee
- Check what your fare includes. On 22 of these 45 airlines the cheapest fare doesn't include a full-size carry-on. Open your airline's page for the exact sizes.
- Measure the bag, wheels and handles included. Then check it against your airline.
- Pack into the free under-seat bag if you can. It's the only bag that's free on most budget fares.
- Need a bigger bag? Add it when you book. Airlines that publish prices by stage charge more later and the most at the gate.
- Mind the weight. Some airlines also weigh cabin bags; the limit is on each airline page.
Next step
Make sure you don't pay at the gate
Bags that dodge the fee
The cheapest bag fee is no fee: a bag that fits the free under-seat allowance. These are bags whose size we checked on the brand's official page. Click one to see every airline it fits.
CabinZero
Classic Backpack 28L
39 × 29.5 × 20 cm
Size from CabinZero's official page, checked 2026-10-26
CabinZero
Classic Backpack 36L
45 × 31 × 20 cm
Size from CabinZero's official page, checked 2026-10-26
Tortuga
Pro Backpack 34L
20.5 × 13 × 7.5 in
Size from Tortuga's official page, checked 2026-10-26
CabinZero
Classic Backpack 44L
51 × 36 × 18 cm
Size from CabinZero's official page, checked 2026-10-26
Osprey
Farpoint 40 Travel Pack
55 × 35 × 23 cm
Size from Osprey's official page, checked 2026-10-26
Tortuga
Pro Backpack 40L
22 × 14 × 8 in
Size from Tortuga's official page, checked 2026-10-26
Away
The Carry-On
22 × 14.4 × 9.1 in
Size from Away's official page, checked 2026-10-26
Sizes come from each brand's official page. We only list bags we've checked.
Already booked? Add the bag online now, not at the gate
Airlines often charge more at the airport or gate than when you add a bag online. If your fare doesn't include the bag you need, change it in your booking on the airline's site before you fly. These airlines publish what they charge (see the table above):
- Allegiant AirOfficial baggage page →
- Avelo AirlinesOfficial baggage page →
- easyJetOfficial baggage page →
- Flair AirlinesOfficial baggage page →
- JetSMARTOfficial baggage page →
- RyanairOfficial baggage page →
- Spring Airlines (春秋航空)Official baggage page →
- TransaviaOfficial baggage page →
- VuelingOfficial baggage page →
- Air CanadaOfficial baggage page →
- LufthansaOfficial baggage page →
- United AirlinesOfficial baggage page →
Questions
Is it cheaper to add a carry-on online or at the gate?
In these examples from the official pages, the gate price is higher than the price when you book: Flair Airlines: Booking: $49–$109 vs. Airport gate: $99–$154; JetSMART: International: from $27.5 USD at ticket purchase (from $37.5 after) vs. International: from $65 USD at the gate (from $60 at the airport counter); Ryanair: Priority & 2 Cabin Bags at booking: €/£12.49–€/£36 vs. Bag over 55x40x20cm at the gate: €/£70.00–€/£75.00 (if hold space). Prices vary by route and date, so check the airline's site for your flight.
Which airlines include a carry-on in the cheapest fare?
Reading each airline's own fare rules, 21 of the 45 airlines here include a full-size carry-on with the cheapest fare (for example ANA, Air China, AirAsia, Alaska Airlines), and 22 don't, including Allegiant Air, Avelo Airlines, Breeze Airways, Eurowings, Flair Airlines. Some depend on route or cabin.
Why does the table say "Not published" for so many airlines?
We only show a price when the airline's official page states the amount. Many airlines show bag prices only inside the booking flow or an interactive price checker, so there is no fixed figure to copy. We don't estimate prices or copy them from third-party sites. 12 of the 45 airlines publish carry-on or gate bag amounts on a page we could check.
How do I avoid paying a gate bag fee?
Check what your fare includes, measure your bag including wheels and handles, and use a bag that fits the free personal item if you can. If you need a bigger bag, add it when you book: airlines that publish prices by stage, such as Flair and JetSMART, charge the most at the gate.
Are these prices up to date?
Each row shows the date we read the airline's official page (latest 2026-10-26). Airlines change prices often and most quote a range that depends on route and date. Always confirm the current price on the airline's site before you fly.