Budget airline bag sizes: avoid the gate fee
Budget airlines make money on bags. A carry-on that's a few centimetres too big can cost more at the gate than your ticket. This site covers 25 low-cost and no-frills airlines: the free under-seat bag, the paid overhead bag, weight limits and the gate fees they publish. Every figure is copied from the airline's own page and dated. Check your bag below before you fly.
All data last checked: 2026-10-25 · how we source it
Will my bag fit?
Smallest free under-seat bags
Want one bag that avoids fees on every airline? It has to fit the smallest of these limits. These are the five strictest by volume, all from official pages:
- VietJet Air: 30 × 20 × 10 cm · Counts toward the 7 kg combined limit
- AirAsia: 40 × 30 × 10 cm · Both items combined max 7 kg
- Pegasus Airlines: 40 × 30 × 15 cm · 3 kg
- Flair Airlines: 43 × 33 × 15 cm · 7 kg (15.5 lb)
- Jet2: 40 × 30 × 20 cm
Some airlines (e.g. Spring Airlines, Wizz Air) measure without wheels or handles. See each airline page.
Size limits by airline
| Airline | Carry-on (cm) | Carry-on (in) | Carry-on weight | Personal item | Carry-on included with | Source | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AirAsia AK · Asia-Pacific |
56 × 36 × 23 cm | ≈ 22 × 14.2 × 9.1 in (converted) | Both items combined max 7 kg | 40 × 30 × 10 cm | Standard (7 kg combined) | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Allegiant Air G4 · US & Canada |
55 × 40 × 25 cm | 22 × 16 × 10 in | Not stated | 18 × 14 × 8 in | Paid ($10–$75) | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Avelo Airlines XP · US & Canada |
55 × 35 × 22 cm | 22 × 14 × 9 in | Not stated | 17 × 13 × 9 in | Paid (free for active-duty military) | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Breeze Airways MX · US & Canada |
≈ 55.9 × 35.6 × 22.9 cm (converted) | 22 × 14 × 9 in | 35 lb (official page) | 17 × 13 × 8 in | Nicer/Nicest or paid add-on | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Eurowings EW · Europe |
55 × 40 × 23 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in (converted) | 8 kg | 40 × 30 × 25 cm | Smart/BIZclass, or paid on Basic | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Flair Airlines F8 · US & Canada |
55 × 40 × 23 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in (converted) | 10 kg (22 lb) | 43 × 33 × 15 cm | Paid; incl. Flair Express | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Frontier Airlines F9 · US & Canada |
≈ 61 × 40.6 × 25.4 cm (converted) | 24 × 16 × 10 in | Up to 35 lb (official page) | 18 × 14 × 8 in | Paid on base fare; included in Economy/Premium/Business bundles | official | 2026-10-25 |
| IndiGo 6E · Asia-Pacific |
55 × 35 × 25 cm page unclear max total L+W+H: 45 in / 115 cm | 22 × 16 × 9 in page unclear | 1 piece up to 7 kg | unverified – not published by airline | 1 piece, 7 kg | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Jet2 LS · Europe |
56 × 45 × 25 cm | ≈ 22 × 17.7 × 9.8 in (converted) | 10 kg | 40 × 30 × 20 cm | Included on all flights | official | 2026-10-25 |
| JetBlue B6 · US & Canada |
55.88 × 35.56 × 22.86 cm | 22 × 14 × 9 in | No weight restriction (official page), as long as you can lift it into the bin | 17 × 13 × 8 in | All fares | official | 2026-10-25 |
| JetSMART JA · Latin America |
55 × 35 × 25 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 13.8 × 9.8 in (converted) | 10 kg | 45 × 35 × 25 cm | Paid add-on | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Jetstar JQ · Asia-Pacific |
56 × 36 × 23 cm | ≈ 22 × 14.2 × 9.1 in (converted) | 2 items combined 7 kg on Starter. Up to 14 kg (main item max 10 kg) with a +7kg add-on or bundle. | unverified – not published by airline | Starter (7 kg combined) | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Norwegian DY · Europe |
55 × 40 × 23 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in (converted) | Combined hand-baggage limit: 10 kg (LowFare+) or 15 kg (Flex) | 40 × 30 × 20 cm | LowFare+ / Flex | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Peach Aviation MM · Asia-Pacific |
unverified – not published by airline max total L+W+H: 115 cm | unverified – not published by airline | Up to 7 kg for both items combined | unverified – not published by airline | 1 bag + 1 personal item, 7 kg | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Pegasus Airlines PC · Europe |
55 × 40 × 23 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in (converted) | 8 kg | 40 × 30 × 15 cm | Saver+ packages, or paid on Light | official 1 official 2 | 2026-10-25 |
| Ryanair FR · Europe |
55 × 40 × 20 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in (converted) | 10 kg (official page) | 40 × 30 × 20 cm | Regular, Flexi Plus, Time Saver or paid Priority add-on | official 1 official 2 | 2026-10-25 |
| Southwest Airlines WN · US & Canada |
≈ 61 × 40.6 × 25.4 cm (converted) | 24 × 16 × 10 in | Not stated | unverified – not published by airline | All fares | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Spring Airlines (春秋航空) 9C · Asia-Pacific |
55 × 40 × 20 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in (converted) | 10 kg | 40 × 30 × 20 cm | Premium fare or paid upgrade | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Transavia HV · Europe |
55 × 40 × 25 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.8 in (converted) | Hand luggage + cabin bag combined max 10 kg | 40 × 30 × 20 cm | Smart/Max, or paid | official | 2026-10-25 |
| VietJet Air VJ · Asia-Pacific |
56 × 36 × 23 cm | ≈ 22 × 14.2 × 9.1 in (converted) | All carry-on combined max 7 kg (depending on fare class and route) | 30 × 20 × 10 cm | 7 kg combined (varies by fare) | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Viva Aerobus VB · Latin America |
55 × 40 × 25 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.8 in (converted) | 10 kg with Switch; 15 kg with Smart | 45 × 35 × 20 cm | Switch/Smart, or paid on Zero | official 1 official 2 | 2026-10-25 |
| Volaris Y4 · Latin America |
55 × 40 × 25 cm | 22 × 16 × 10 in | 10 kg. Carry-on plus personal item combined max 20 kg. | 45 × 35 × 20 cm | Plus fare, or paid add-on | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Vueling VY · Europe |
55 × 40 × 20 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 7.9 in (converted) | 10 kg | 40 × 30 × 20 cm | Most bundles; add-on with Fly Light | official | 2026-10-25 |
| Wizz Air W6 · Europe |
55 × 40 × 23 cm | ≈ 21.7 × 15.7 × 9.1 in (converted) | 10 kg | 40 × 30 × 20 cm | WIZZ Priority only | official | 2026-10-25 |
| easyJet U2 · Europe |
56 × 45 × 25 cm | ≈ 22 × 17.7 × 9.8 in (converted) | Max 15 kg (official page) | 45 × 36 × 20 cm | Paid add-on; included with Inclusive Plus / easyJet Plus | official | 2026-10-25 |
(converted) means we did the unit conversion; the airline published only the other unit. unverified means the airline's official page gives no figure, so we don't show one. On budget airlines the free bag is usually the small under-seat one. "Carry-on" here means the overhead cabin bag, which is often paid. Each airline page shows exactly which fares include it.